REVIEW: The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling

talesofbeedlethebardcoverTitle: The Tales of Beedle the Bard

Author: J.K. Rowling

Pages: 109

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Published: December 4, 2007

Date Read: September 25, 2018

Rating: 3 stars

Summary & Image via Goodreads: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, contains five richly diverse fairy tales, each with it’s own magical character, that will variously bring delight, laughter and the thrill of mortal peril.

Additional notes for each story penned by Professor Albus Dumbledore will be enjoyed by Muggles and wizards alike, as the Professor muses on the morals illuminated by the tales, and reveals snippets of information about life at Hogwarts.

A uniquely magical volume, with illustrations by the author, J. K. Rowling, that will be treasured for years to come.

Review: My goal this year was to reread all of the Harry Potter books, and I wanted to include any and every book J.K. Rowling put out there that involved the universe she’s created. And this goal included all of the textbooks and wizard folklore from Harry Potter’s world.

I’m not going to lie, I love folklore. I listen to a podcast called Lore, if that gives you a hint. So even though this is fiction, I still loved the wizard folklore stories that came about most prominently in the seventh Harry Potter book. 

I liked all of the stories. I think I went into the book very Harry Potter driven so when none of the stories contained Harry Potter himself maybe I was a bit disappointed. Though in fairness to the author, I shouldn’t be. She’s a great writer and I honestly feel a bit blasphemous giving this book 3 stars.

Even though it’s fiction, and wizard folklore, it still read like a history book at times. I could feel myself starting to lose interest at some points but I chugged on through and finished it in a day. 

This book is definitely for the committed HP fan. It gives the reader background on some stuff mentioned in the 7 book series, so if you’re not an avid reader of Rowling’s novels, this book really won’t interest you.

Leave a comment