REVIEW: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

fantasticbeastscoverTitle: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Author: Newt Scamander (Pseudonym), J.K. Rowling, Albus Dumbledore (Foreword)

Pages: 128

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

Published: June 1, 2001

Date Read: September 29, 2018

Rating: 3 stars

Summary & Image via Goodreads: An approved textbook at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry since publication, Newt Scamander’s masterpiece has entertained wizarding families through the generations. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is an indispensable introduction to the magical beasts of the Wizarding World. Scamander’s years of travel and research have created a tome of unparalleled importance. Some of the beasts will be familiar to readers of the Harry Potter books – the Hippogriff, the Basilisk, the Hungarian Horntail … Others will surprise even the most ardent amateur Magizoologist. This is an essential companion to the Harry Potter stories, and includes a new foreword from J.K. Rowling (writing as Newt Scamander) and six new beasts!

Review: While reading this book and the other textbooks, I remember thinking I was officially studying the same material that Hermoine fell in love with and that Ron and Harry had trouble staying awake through. And I was so determined to be like Hermoine, the studious student reading the textbooks for ~funsies~. But I gotta say, I completely understand Ron’s and Harry’s boredom…

It’s not that the book was bad, because it was good! I liked it! But…I quickly felt like I was reading a biology book with a lil twist. I’m not someone who likes learning about science or animals in an academic manner, and this book definitely gave the impression that it was a textbook (which I know is the point lol). But for me, I felt like I was doing homework and at times just kept reading to get it over with. I liked the book because it expanded the Harry Potter universe for me, but it’s not something I’ll re-read or go back to like I would the HP books themselves.

Leave a comment